About

Who We Are

The Richmond Community of Caring was established to provide training and guidance for educators, parents and community members in order to help them ensure that children are nurtured in safe and caring schools guided by 5 Core Values: Caring, Respect, Responsibility, Trust and Family.

What We Do

Richmond Community of Caring collaborates with Richmond Public schools and community partners to improve, transform and sustain a positive school culture and climate that is safe and supportive for all members of the community. Our team works with teachers, parents and school leaders to provide training and activities for creating safe and healthy learning environments in which all children and professionals can succeed.

Richmond “Caring” Schools

School Principal Lead Lead Teachers
Armstrong High School Willie Bell wbell@rvaschools.net Temeka Quinn tnelson@rvaschools.net

Nicole Sparkman nsparkma@rvaschools.net

Bellevue Elementary School V. Tanaia Hines vhines@rvaschools.net Anne Harris aharris5@rvaschools.net
Chimborazo Elementary School David Peck  dpeck@rvaschools.net Judith Stallings  jmccollu@rvaschool.net
Fairfield Elementary School Angela Wright awright6@rvaschools.net Barbara Gorno  bgorno@rvaschools.net
George Mason Elementary School Kimberly Cook kcook2@rvaschools.net Natalie Battle  nbattle@rvaschools.net
Martin Luther King Middle School Inett Dabney  idabney@rvaschools.net Salena Scott  sscott7@rvaschools.net

Dustin Robinson   drobins@rvaschools.net

Overby-Sheppard Elementary School Andranise Flowers  aflowers@rvaschools.net Tonia Sharpe  tsharpe@rvaschools.net
Woodville Elementary School Shannon Washington  swashin3@rvaschools.net Laquea Carter lcarter@rvaschools.net

5-Core Values Guiding Principles

  • We believe that a community that embraces the core values of caring, trust, respect, responsibility, and family will build brighter futures for our youth and our city

  • We believe in healthy relationship development is in the best interest of youth, families, and the Richmond community

  • We believe that our youth are assets and should be equal partners in all aspects of prevention activities in our community

  • We believe that our community, schools, and parents play key roles and share in the responsibility of enhancing youth well-being

  • We believe promoting healthy relationships will reduce poverty, improve opportunities for young men and women to complete their education and other life goals, and build a stronger Richmond

Community of Caring Board Members

  • Bruce Tyler, Principal Emeritus, Baskervill, Chairman
  • Donald Stern, Former Director, Richmond City Health District, Secretary
  • Cheryl Burke, 7th District RPS School Board Member
  • Felicia D. Cosby, 6th District RPS School School Board Member
  • James “Jay Jay” Minor, Community Volunteer
  • Cynthia Newbille, President, Richmond City Council
  • Jennifer Smith-Slabaugh, State Manager, Project Aware
  • Ray Tarasovic, Former Richmond Police Chief
  • Grady Hart, Community Partnerships Coordinator, RPS
  • Anne Harris, Executive Director

An Affiliate of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver Professional Development Center for Community of Caring.