About

Who We Are

The Richmond Community of Caring was established to provide training and guidance for educators, parents and community members in order to help them ensure that children are nurtured in safe and caring schools guided by 5 Core Values: Caring, Respect, Responsibility, Trust and Family.

What We Do

Richmond Community of Caring collaborates with Richmond Public schools and community partners to improve, transform and sustain a positive school culture and climate that is safe and supportive for all members of the community. Our team works with teachers, parents and school leaders to provide training and activities for creating safe and healthy learning environments in which all children and professionals can succeed.

Richmond “Caring” Schools

School Principal Lead Lead Teachers
Armstrong High School Willie Bell/ wbell@rvaschools.net Anne Culbreth/ aculbret@rvaschools.net
Bellevue Elementary School Regina Farr/ rfarr@rvaschools.net Anne Harris/ aharris5@rvaschools.net
Chimborazo Elementary School David Peck/ dpeck@rvaschools.net Judith Stallings/ jmccollu@rvaschool.net
Fairfield Elementary School Ellena Ebanks/ eebanks@rvaschools.net Pamela Fowler/ phui@rvaschools.net
George Mason Elementary School Rose Ferguson / rferguso@rvaschools.net Natalie Battle/ nbattle@rvaschools.net
Martin Luther King Middle School Inett Dabney/ idabney@rvaschools.net Salena Scott/ sscott7@rvaschools.net

Devanee Hairston/ dhairsto@rvaschools.net

Overby-Sheppard Elementary School Kara Lancaster-Gay/ klancast@rvaschools.net Tonia Sharpe/ tsharpe@rvaschools.net
Woodville Elementary School Shannon Washington/ swashin3@rvaschools.net Laquea Carter/ lcarter@rvaschools.net

5-Core Values Guiding Principles

  • We believe that a community that embraces the core values of caring, trust, respect, responsibility, and family will build brighter futures for our youth and our city

  • We believe in healthy relationship development is in the best interest of youth, families, and the Richmond community

  • We believe that our youth are assets and should be equal partners in all aspects of prevention activities in our community

  • We believe that our community, schools, and parents play key roles and share in the responsibility of enhancing youth well-being

  • We believe promoting healthy relationships will reduce poverty, improve opportunities for young men and women to complete their education and other life goals, and build a stronger Richmond

Community of Caring Board Members

  • Bruce Tyler, Principal, Baskervill, Chairman
  • Donald Stern, Former Director, Richmond City Health District, Secretary
  • Buford Scott, Chairman Emeritus, Scott & Stringfellow, Treasurer
  • Maria Brown, Principal, Maria Brown Strategies, LLC
  • Cheryl Burke, 7th District, Richmond School Board
  • Felicia D. Cosby, 6th District, Richmond School Board
  • Alfred Durham, Richmond Chief of Police
  • Angela Jones, Director of Student and Family Services, Richmond Public Schools Representative
  • James “Jay Jay” Minor, City of Richmond, Department of Public Works and Community Representative
  • Cynthia Newbille, City Council
  • Jennifer Slabaugh, State Manager, Project Aware
  • Ray Tarasovic, Former Richmond Police Chief
  • Anne Harris, Executive Director

An Affiliate of the Eunice Kennedy Shriver Professional Development Center for Community of Caring.